top of page

King's Canyon and Bears think everything is food...

Everything that smells like anything a bear thinks is food. Always put your stuff in bear boxes.

Anyway, I stayed at the Sentinel campground at Kings Canyon National Park for a night and holy crap that was a scary drive to get there but well worth the views. The campground is absolutely beautiful a great spot to chill and eat after a day of hiking and exploring all the waterfalls, wetlands, riverbeds, etc. I read the The End of Night by Paul Bogard as the sunset into the night. I fell asleep to the sound of the river rushing behind the camp.

Though Someone with their headlights or Coleman lanterns scared the crap out of me around 10 pm. When I woke up to sounds and thought because of the light everything was on fire. That was awful. There is a fire restriction but no one seemed to pay it any mind. That worried me.

Listen to the fire restrictions, don't be that person that burns down a bunch of land because you thought you were above safety.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page